DrawText and lpRect

Aug 22, 2010 at 9:23 PM

I have set up EasyHook to hook DrawText successfully and am having no trouble snooping the text output and sending it to my application.

Ideally, I would like to know the coordinates of where these items are destined to be printed.  Granted, I'm not very good at debugging the injection DLL so I'm looking for suggestions on better debugging techniques and also possibly better ways to look up the coordinates.

I'm not 100% sure how lpRect works.  Does it provide the rectangle for the string being passed in?  Or does it provide the rectangle for the entire box in which the text is to be formatted (say a listView, for example).

I used the ProcMon example as a frame to get my DrawText hook working.... this is my run function:

public void Run(RemoteHooking.IContext InContext, String InArg1)
        {
            try
            {

DrawTextHook = LocalHook.Create(LocalHook.GetProcAddress("user32.dll", "DrawTextW"), new DDrawText(DrawText_Hooked), this);

/*
                 * Don't forget that all hooks will start deaktivated...
                 * The following ensures that all threads are intercepted:
                 */
                DrawTextHook.ThreadACL.SetExclusiveACL(new Int32[1]);
            }
            catch (Exception e)
            {
                /*S
                    Now we should notice our host process about this error...
                 */
                Interface.ReportError(RemoteHooking.GetCurrentProcessId(), e);

return;
            }

// wait for host process termination...
            try
            {
                while (Interface.Ping(RemoteHooking.GetCurrentProcessId()))
                {
                    Thread.Sleep(2000);

// transmit newly monitored file accesses...
                    lock (Queue)
                    {

if (Queue.Count > 0)
                            {
                                String[] Package = null;

Package = Queue.ToArray();

Queue.Clear();