need help creating a remote hook

Jul 24, 2012 at 6:00 PM

Hi.  I am new to Easyhook and hooking in general.  I am trying to create an unmanaged hook and I can not seem to get past this error "C++ completion routine has returned success but didn't raise the remote event.".  I have searched all over and I found a few references but nothing that has helped.  I have tried using RhInjectLibrary as well as RhCreateAndInject; both with the same results.

I am on a windows 7 x64 machine however my injection dll and the program I am trying to inject into are both 32 bit.

My native entry point is extremely basic right now:

extern "C" __declspec(dllexport) void __stdcall NativeInjectionEntryPoint(REMOTE_ENTRY_INFO * remoteInfo)
{
    RhWakeUpProcess();
}

And the code to create and inject the process:

std::string libPath = "...valid path to my injection dll";
    std::string exePath = "...valid path to my exe";
    std::string cmdLine = "";

std::wstring e(exePath.begin(), exePath.end());
    std::wstring c(cmdLine.begin(), cmdLine.end());

ULONG pid;

std::wstring wlibPath = std::wstring(libPath.begin(), libPath.end());
    NTSTATUS result = RhCreateAndInject((WCHAR*)e.c_str(), (WCHAR*)c.c_str(), 0, EASYHOOK_INJECT_DEFAULT, (WCHAR*)wlibPath.c_str(), NULL, NULL, 0, &pid);
    if( result!=0)
    {
        std::wstring error = RtlGetLastErrorString();
        _error = std::string(error.begin(), error.end());
        return false;
    }

Not sure what I might be missing, I appreciate any help.  Thanks!

Jul 24, 2012 at 10:16 PM

For a test I decided to create the process manually and then using the task manager I get the PID and then use RhInjectLibrary to connect to the PID directly.  I managed to get a little further, or at least the failure is different.  My reasoning was maybe the process did not have enough time to get up and running before the injection is attempted.  When I do this, I now get the error "Unknown error in injected assembler code."